History of Sarawak~

Brief history of Sarawak.

Sarawak is one of the Malaysian states on Borneo Island. It is known as “Bumi Kenyalang”, which literally means the Land of Hornbills. There are some histories lies within Sarawak. By the early 19th century, Sarawak is under the rule of Sultan Brunei. In 1839, Sarawak was in the state of chaos and during this time, James Brooke arrived in Sarawak. James Brooke agreed to restore Sarawak, in the condition that Sultan Brunei must surrender Sarawak to him. James Brooke ruled Sarawak until his death in 1868. Sarawak was then handed to his cousin, Charles Vyner Brooke. Under the Brooke Dynasty, the territory of Sarawak was greatly expanded. The Brooke family governed Sarawak with the aid of the Dayaks such as the Iban, Bidayuh and other ethnic groups. Later, Japan invaded Sarawak in the year of 1941, during the War World II. After the end of the Second World War, Sarawak became a British Colony, before it finally joined with Malaysia in the later year. Sarawak was then officially granted independence on 22nd July 1963.

Back To Top